International Concert Series 2017/2018 | Welsh National Opera

SummaryBack to top

Sunday, April 29, 2018


Prokofiev Cinderella, Suite No 1 from the ballet
Grieg Piano Concerto
Beethoven Symphony No 7

Prokofiev’s colourful ballet score, Cinderella, is chock full of witty, vibrant music, by turns spiky and lushly romantic. The Quarrel of the Ugly Sisters, Cinderella’s Waltz and the memorable Midnight Hour are among the Suite’s highlights. No less richly melodic is Grieg’s evergreen Piano Concerto, renowned for its explosive opening bars and its tender lyricism. By contrast, Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony hurtles along with boundless energy.

Supported by WNO Orchestra Circle


Cast & CreativeBack to top

Conductor Tomáš Hanus

Soloist Peter Donohoe (Piano)

VideoBack to top